Star Wars

Retro Sci Fi?


While catching up on a number of feeds that I follow, I took notice of this premake of The Empire Strikes Back. It’s a mashup from various older science fiction films that were pulled together to create a “what if the movie had been produced in the 1940s or 1950s.”

The concept brought to mind those rare instances when we purposefully play in retro science fiction settings. I have to admit that the only one I’ve used was Space 1889; though I will admit that I’ve been considering buying a copy of the GURPS Lensmen splatbook to see if I can’t possibly port it over to Traveller.

All of which has me wondering, how many people have used a retro science fiction game as part of their regular rotation? And if you do, what settings/systems do you use?

Leave a Reply

