Clones · Monsters

Bakshi’s strange beast of burden


wizards_posterAs any true pulp fantasy fan, I’ve been a long time admirer of Ralph Bakshi’s Wizards. While his animated version of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings is probably better known, and was certainly more successful in the box office, Wizards had that unique blend of technology v. magic that I’ve always enjoyed.

The film often pops into my head when I’m working with certain types of ideas. For example, the iconic image you see to the right came to mind as I was working on my current Castles & Crusades game.

As I explained yesterday, I’ve been spending a little time roughing in the region and while thinking of the Plains of Oor, and the horsemen who live there, I began to wonder if horses are the way to go; the problem is, I don’t like any of the other options. I don’t want to use overtly fantastical mounts (wyverns, hippogriffs, et al.), and camels don’t seem appropriate either.

That’s when I thought of the odd, post-apocalyptic two legged horse variant that Bakshi gave us. I’m not sure it really fits with the image I have for the plainsmen but I began to wonder what it might look like on paper. This is what I’ve come up with:

Ostrey (Labyrinth Lord)
No. Enc.: 1
Alignment: Neutral
Movement: 120’ (40’)
Armor Class: 7
Hit Dice: 2
Attacks: Kick
Damage: 1d4
Save: F1
Morale: 8
Hoard Class: None

Ostrey (Castles & Crusades)
NO. ENC: 1
SIZE: Large
HD: 2 (d8)
MOVE: 60 ft.
AC: 13
ATTACKS: kick (1d4)
SAVES: P
INT: Animal
ALIGN: Neutral
TYPE: Animal
TREASURE: n/a
XP: 10+2

The Ostrey resembles an over-sized ostrich but is actually a subspecies of the horse. It has the same head, tough hide, and even a similar whinny, but only has two legs. Like the horse, they are primarily used as mounts and pack animals. The average Ostrey can carry up to 175 lbs at full movement, and a maximum of 500 lbs with their movement halved.

Obviously, it’s not far removed from the horse, and I’m still tinkering with the stats to get the exact feel I want (I’ll keep this block updated). Even if I don’t use it for the plainsmen, I just might use it elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

