Conventions · GMing

Which would you play?


I’ve not been to a Con in years but I’m thinking of going to Raven Con this April. In fact, I’ve been thinking about volunteering to run a game (or two). I just haven’t yet nailed down what I might want to run because I’m so out of practice with convention gaming.

So, I’m going to throw this out to the masses. If you had a choice of playing in a Con game or two, which of the following sound the most appealing?

Battlestar Galactica (Cortex)
Deadlands (Reloaded)
Mutants and Masterminds
Razor in the Apple or Innocents (True20/WoD)
Top Secret (you read that right)
Traveller

Feel free to let me know what you think might work well as a Con game as well as what would draw you to the table (take the poll in the sidebar).

17 thoughts on “Which would you play?

  1. Just to be contrary, I went with “Top Secret.”

    Always wanted to do the secret agent thang.

    Second choice is for Deadlands: Reloaded.

  2. I know what you mean. I’ve had an interest in the secret agent thing recently myself. It’s a shame that there aren’t more games like it, though I have to admit it’s an easy genre to pull off with your favorite generic (Cortex/True20/GURPS). Is it just me, or did a lot of our old attempts at espionage land more in the “merc” rather than the “spy” category?

  3. I think it is safe to say that any of our attempts to do something different than our norm wound up dying bullet riddled and burning in a ditch, ’cause that’s how we roll(ed).

    There’s a joke in there somewhere…

  4. “Dying bullet riddled and burning in a ditch” is the perfect description of our Shadowrun game. I’ve never seen characters soak up so many bullets.

    I don’t honestly remember us trying espionage all that much, though I do recall a 007 game that Gene ran for a while. If memory serves the game didn’t last long but it was relatively successful.

  5. Oh, I’d almost forgotten that game. I liked my rigger!

    Who was the guy who played with us who had zero tactical knowledge (for example: when people shoot at you, you generally hide behind something as quickly as you can) and just stood there while sucking up lead?

  6. You know, I was going to say that it was my buddy Terry, but that doesn’t sound right because I don’t remember playing anything but basic wargames (Carwars, Ogre, or GEV) with him; and, because of that, I know he’s not nearly stupid enough to stand in the open in the middle of a firefight. What’s even stranger is that I remember the same thing with vivid clarity but can’t for the life of me remember who the player was. Unless…was it Michael?

  7. Don’t know.

    I don’t recall that person playing in a game with us again afterwards, though.

    I think we were a bit rough on his sensibilities as we wondered aloud, “just what in the hell were you thinking,” and such.

    May be wrong about this particular memory, mind you.

  8. I wish I could help you guys. I don’t recall playing such a game. I didn’t do much outside AD&D only a few things and I don’t think this was one. Maybe Kevin could help. Or Ian. All the people I can think of would not be so inept. Sorry I can’t help more.

  9. Actually, I tried to pick games that: a) I’m really interested in running, and b) work well as a one-off deal. I certainly have an interest in running an old school fantasy game but unless they’re humorous or madly inventive, I don’t think they work so well for Cons. Damn, still can’t remember who the “bullet soaker” was.

  10. Wasn’t that the game that we played at my game store on Tunnel Road? Michael did play in that game but he also played with us a number of other times, in fact we played at his house for a while as well in a different campaign. Was it perhaps Kyle? Because let’s not forget that Star Trek game where we all hated Kyle as captain so much that we mutinied and took over the ship.

  11. Yeah, I’m just not sure if Michael would have been playing a Street Samauri or not, which is what the mystery person was playing. It could have been Kyle, but he so seldom played with us, and when he did it was usually…well, disastrously funny.

  12. Well I don’t remember what your mystery person was playing but as I recall Michael was playing a “circus roustabout”. I think I was playing a skateboarding decker and as strange as it sounds I seem to remember something about a flying van, or something to that affect. I remember Scott making references to “the Mystery Machine” and doing frequent Scooby Doo imitations. Or maybe my mind is finally turning to mush…

    Getting back to our unknown player, I don’t know who else it might have been. I don’t think Gene was playing with us at that point.

  13. Oh, and by the way Marcia, I think you did play in that game. I remember you being rather uneasy about playing outside of the fantasy genre and you ended up with a shaman type character (can’t recall what the class was called) because it was basically a mage with a nature theme.

  14. I have a game suggestion for you but it wasn’t on your poll. I was thinking about gaming in general and in particular the type of games that lend themselves well to a convention type setting, i.e. a group of people who don’t know each other all sitting down to play a single game session as opposed to a long-term campaign. And it suddenly occurred to me what I would love to play in a situation like that: Paranoia! Big Brother meets The Matrix, with a bit of Monty Python thrown in for good measure. Sure players died like flies but they were just clones, two minutes later and you’re back in action!

  15. You know, I actually did think of Paranoia, but eventually dropped in favor of a couple of more recent games (Galactica and Razor) which I thought might be good matches for the Con setting. In a way, I think you could do a Paranoia-esque kind of game with Galactica, since the crux of the entire story revolves around not knowing who might be a cylon.

  16. I know I played several games outside fantasy. In one game I know I played a native American who might have been what you thought of as a shaman. He was wolf clan or something similar and much like JK Rolling, his sir name was Lupin or whatever the Latin name for wolves is. Not sure who DM’d,

    I remember one other game and I know Tim did not DM because he and I teamed up he was blind I was deaf and we used sign language. One of those systems where you had to sell parts of your body to get skills LOL.

    I think I also played in at least one Star Trek game.

Leave a Reply

