RPGs (general)

Post-apocalyptic angst


As I mull over the idea of a non-projectile setting, and attempt to decide whether I’d prefer it in a post-apocalyptic or near future society, I stopped to think about the first type of game. In my experience, the bulk of the post-apocalyptic games are covered with either mutant characters or enraged, flesh eating monstrosities. The only exception I can think of is Twilight 2000, which is really so utterly realistic as to be all but depressing.

Personally, I’ve never been a fan of the former. Almost every game I’ve seen where mutant powers come into play just makes my skin crawl. Not only does it completely take away from any realistic feel, but the benefits are often so absurd as to be superhero-like in nature.

The later version — flesh eating monstrosities — is much more to my taste. Not only does the idea of mixing modern or futuristic technology with rampant monsters add an interesting flavor, but it’s also more fun than the generic Twilight 2000 combat scenarios (and ultimately more survivable).

Of course, with the game I have in mind, neither of these types of post-apocalyptic settings would seem ideal. The mutation genre might work san projectiles, but as I said, I’ve never been a fan of it; meanwhile, the flesh eating monstrosities would likely wind up eating the party before their kung fu action grip could spoil their plans.

I realize this doesn’t cover all the possible variations for a post-apocalyptic setting, but it did give me a quick idea of what I’m going to steer away from. Needless to say, I’m still exploring a lot of different possibilities, and continue to mash up various weird ideas to see if I like the feel and fit of anything.

Leave a Reply

